Our Stories


The Art of Broken Hill at Parliament House

Nineteen artists from Broken Hill in far west New South Wales, are on exhibition at Parliament House in Sydney through June, in “The Art of Broken Hill: Traditional to Contemporary”.

The exhibition displays the vibrancy and diversity of the art and artists living and working in and around the far west New South Wales town today.    

At the invitation of The Hon. Ben Franklin, President of the State Legislative Council, West Darling Arts and Ngatyi Arts has delivered a selection of works that are as diverse in style, subject matter and perspectives as Broken Hill itself.  

Mr Franklin expressed his excitement for the showcase: "We are honoured to host this extraordinary collection of artworks from Broken Hill. This exhibition not only showcases the incredible talent of the artists but also highlights the rich cultural history and vibrant community spirit of this iconic region. We hope visitors will gain a deeper appreciation for the artistic contributions of Broken Hill and the significant role it plays in our state’s cultural landscape." 
With possibly one of the highest concentration of artists per capita in the nation the Silver City is briming with creativity. From our First Nations artists passing on millennia of tradition, through to classical landscape artists continuing a path carved by ‘the Brushmen of the Bush’, and contemporary artists carrying on a long running tradition making work about the real very real highs and lows of life in remote Australia.  
Broken Hill's artists have gained a rightful place in art's history and have contributed to the town's reputation as a city of the arts. This exciting and eclectic exhibition pays homage to their legacy while showcasing the continued evolution of Broken Hill as an artistic and cultural beacon. 
Artists exhibiting in the exhibition include:  Clark Barrett, Jenny Cattonar, Jade Cicak, Joshua de Gruchy, David Doyle, Eddy Harris, John Hart, Amanda Johnson, Krystle Evans, Kelly Leonard, Wendy Martin, Asma d. Mather, Jason McCarthur, Verity Nunan, Jim Paterson, Liisa Peisto, Barbara Quayle, Tannya Quayle, Kathy Graham.  

Visit the exhibition at The Parliament of New South Wales Fountain Court exhibition space  on weekdays , 9am to 5pm between 4 June and 1 July 2024.  

Keep Up To Date

Get the latest West Darling Arts news delivered directly to your inbox!