Our Stories


Drought Resilience Leadership Program

Drought Resilience Leadership Program
Congratulations to the Far West participants who included representatives from the arts, community, small business, education, local government and landcare sectors.
More than 30 leaders in the Parkes electorate have been selected to take part in a leadership development program as part of the Australian Government’s $5 billion Future Drought Fund (FDF).
Minister for Agriculture and Northern Australia, David Littleproud said a total of 42 participants have been selected for the Drought Resilience Leaders program in Western NSW.
“Farmers and members of the community in this region of New South Wales will have the opportunity to join a cohort of forward-thinkers and work with others to drive action in their community to prepare for future drought,” Minister Littleproud said.
“The program gives future leaders in rural and regional areas the opportunity to gain knowledge and skills through leadership development and undertake community activities.”
The participants from Western NSW were selected after a competitive application process. They will take part in a mix of residential and remote training, including personal and community resilience, and network and adaptive leadership.
Federal Member for Parkes Mark Coulton congratulated the 32 leaders selected from the Parkes electorate.
“It’s great to see so many leaders from the Parkes electorate put their hand up to take part in this development program,” Mr Coulton said.
“This will only enrich our region, equipping these progressive locals with the skills they need to prepare their communities for future droughts.”
The Drought Resilience Leaders program is a partnership between the Australian Government and the Australian Rural Leadership Foundation Limited (ARLF).
ARLF will work with the next generation of rural and regional leaders to develop their leadership capabilities, encouraging them to work together with their communities to better prepare for drought.
On completion of the program, participants can apply for a Community Engagement Grant for a local project to continue building drought resilience for their community.
For more information about the Future Drought Fund Drought Resilience Leaders program and other FDF programs visit: awe.gov.au/ag-farm-food/drought/future-drought-fund
Parkes electorate participants:
Amanda Brownlow – Dubbo
Belinda Bel – Warren
Blake Edgecombe – Broken Hill
Claudia Bryant – Broken Hill
Dylan Stone – Broken Hill
Ellen Day – Broken Hill
Fiona Kelly – Broken Hill
Gayle Ball – Broken Hill
Ghislaine Barbe – Broken Hill
Grace Ridge – Bourke
Jacqueline Dutton – Lake Cargelligo
James Cleaver – Dubbo
Sally Rindfleish – Dubbo
Jessica Payton – Bourke
Jessica Murray – Louth
Kathryn Hines – Broken Hill
Katherine Botha – Broken Hill
Keiley Noble – Narromine
Kelly Leonard – Broken Hill
Dulcie O’Donnell – Broken Hill
Leroy Johnson – Mutawintji
Miranda Cooper – Broken Hill
Nano Moody – Narromine
Nathan Fell – Broken Hill
Rod Campbell – Dubbo
Rosalie Siemer – Broken Hill
Samuel Greville – Broken Hill
Summa Rayner – Broken Hill
Tamara Cuffe – Broken Hill
Tammy Greer – Dubbo
Thomas Ellis – Broken Hill
Tracy Blackburn – Dubbo
Mark Coulton caught up with two of the local leaders in Broken Hill – Ghislaine Barbe and Rosalie Siemer

Keep Up To Date

Get the latest West Darling Arts news delivered directly to your inbox!